Release 23.09.2022

ROUTE 2

The double LP ROUTE 2 consistently follows the sound worlds of the LP ROUTE 1, also released in 2022 on r-ecords.com. In doing so, Roland Schappert transfers ten new pieces of his special sound generation with often surprising twists into contexts that are only remotely reminiscent of familiar analog instruments or digital synthesizers. Short melody fragments, pointed tone sequences and rhythmic phrases in varied loops or unique are organically interwoven with each other.

Joachim Ody, May 2022

Darwin

Bell-like sounds drip, beat sequences of notes before them, and unfold a finely chiseled microcosmic ballet. At the end, an evolutionary process unfolds and a portal opens, taking us to the echoing sounds of a bird hall, followed shortly by a tranquil ocean atmosphere. Nature is reclaiming space. Or will this prove to be a deceptive simulation in the end?

Drohnt

Drone threatens. Alarm sirens wail. Storm is coming. Rain whips. Children panic. Escape. Or are they just playing? Is there a cruise missile approaching? Is an alien invasion imminent? No, it’s just a drone sending out signals. It only threatens. A sci-fi scenario of a cheap B-movie production is beamed into the interstellar now. This doesn’t come across as cheap – you never actually heard the sound of an offended saucer.

I love you, ich

No dance that stands still. Slowly, like an endless cloud. Full of interruptions, radio holes on the trail. Even a short sprint does not lead to a goal in front of your eyes – this is how you get to any place steadily in unison: Nothing more or less… I love you too.

I love you, Coda

A brief recasting and acceleration of I love you, ich, summarized in a new phonetic order. Individual broken letters form an aesthetic sound structure – electronic applications get into the uncoordinated. An artistic understanding distantly reminiscent of the history of sound poetry in the guise of rhythmic structures.

Victor

There unknown – similar to a disc – creaking with melodic continuous fire pushes itself towards a deep bass layer. Airily equipped, it delights in agonizing dryness of spartan tone sequences. Turns everything and does not deviate from the path.

Fällst mir leicht

A stomper for the dark disco. Direct. Dynamic. Full of energy. Mechanical rhythms are mercilessly driven forward. In their echo chambers, a virtual electronic world gambles away its liberation through an unexpected synth interruption that is robotically displaced. Marching would not be an option. To let off steam on the dance floor, to really puke your soul out, that is. That’s an easy way for you to fall.

Dich

Here, only letters and words speak for one minute. Ich – ich – ich – Dich – ich liebe Dich – ich – ich – Dich. Sounding and interconnection of voice and body. With a nervous mechanics, the phonemes puff, hiss, and overlap multiple times. They are modulated, serially systematized – until the essence of each expression appears dissolved.

Barbate

The panorama of a southern Andalusian city as a dazzling fresco. But without any Spanish clichés. Without tourist folklore. Sonically illuminated and interlaced. Thus, a feeling is reflected to which one might expose oneself in this place, when images detune the sounds. Thoughtfully, concentrated, almost procession-like, a melodic fragment comes together. With fluctuations at the margin. Day bright and night black. The motif is constantly repeated, changing keys, wandering through scales. Harmonies start to falter. In the process, they seem to dissolve incessantly without the piece losing substance. The instrument remains unrecognized. An unknown stringed instrument?

Cádiz

In glistening light, the world dream of a coastal resort shimmers in the heat. Full of absorbent cotton and pithy edges, it clicks and clanks between two winds. In the thick oil flirt cold-pressed olives. Broken open, they float away.

Campari-Sekt

A few ice cubes in the glass. Before they melt, they are shaken. They rotate. Clink. Then a pan. The sound takes on a life of its own and becomes blurred. Transfers into rhythms. Loud life of its own. The cubes are no longer identifiable as such, they are filtered and metamorphosed in several shades. An electronic decomposition process seems to be inexorably underway. Rhythms circulate, catching themselves and the listeners. They are constantly changing their style. Not forever. At the end, the mass, which has become amorphous, is unveiled and diverts onto the still clinking ice. No time has passed.

Joachim Ody & Roland Schappert, May 2022

Created, performed, mixed, artwork, lyrics
and cover photographs by Roland Schappert
Mastered by Robert Feuchtl at bobhumid.de
Design by Monika Neumann at motho-design.com
Produced by Michael Heiber at neophon.de
Thank you Joachim Ody
Limited Edition 250
2022
Download link: xxxxxxxxxxx
Download code: xxxxxxxxxxx
Distribution by a-musik.com
All rights reserved
www.r-records.com

Release September 2022

ROUTE 2

Die Doppel-LP ROUTE 2 schließt konsequent an die Klangwelten der ebenfalls 2022 auf r-ecords.com erschienenen LP ROUTE 1 an. Dabei überführt Roland Schappert zehn neue Stücke seiner speziellen Klangerzeugung mit oftmals überraschenden Wendungen in Kontexte, die nur noch entfernt an bekannte analoge Instrumente oder digitale Synthesizer erinnern. Kurze Melodiefragmente, pointierte Tonfolgen und rhythmische Phrasen in variantenreichen Loops oder unique  werden organisch miteinander verwoben. 

Joachim Ody, Mai 2022

Darwin

Glockige Klänge tröpfeln, schlagen Tonfolgen vor sich hin und entfalten ein fein ziseliertes mikrokosmisches Ballett. Am Schluss entfaltet sich ein evolutionstechnischer Prozess und es öffnet sich ein Portal, das uns in die Echoklänge einer Vogelhalle führt und kurz darauf eine beschauliche Meeresatmosphäre entstehen lässt. Die Natur erobert sich Raum zurück. Oder erweist sich das am Ende als trügerische Simulation?

Drohnt

Drone droht. Alarmsirenen heulen. Sturm zieht auf. Regen peitscht. Kinder geraten in Panik. Flüchten. Oder spielen sie nur? Nähert sich ein Marschflugkörper? Steht eine Alien-Invasion bevor? Nein, es ist lediglich ein Drohn, der Signale aussendet. Es drohnt nur. Ein SciFi-Szenario einer billigen B-Movie-Produktion wird ins interstellare Jetzt gebeamt. Das wirkt nicht billig – man hörte eigentlich nie den Sound einer beleidigten Untertasse.

I love you, ich

Kein Tanz, der stillsteht. Langsam, einer endlosen Wolke gleich. Voller Unterbrechungen, Funklöchern auf der Spur. Selbst ein kleiner Sprint führt kein Ziel vor Augen – so kommt man stetig im Gleichklang an jeden Ort: Nothing more or less… I love you too.

I love you, Coda

Eine kurze Umgestaltung und Beschleunigung von I love you, ich, die in einer neuen phonetischen Ordnung zusammengefasst ist. Einzelne gebrochene Buchstaben bilden eine ästhetische Klangstruktur – elektronische Applikationen geraten ins Unkoordinierte. Ein entfernt an die Geschichte der Lautpoesie erinnerndes künstlerisches Verständnis im Gewand rhythmischer Strukturen.

Victor

Da schiebt sich Unbekanntes – einer Scheibe ähnlich – knarzend mit melodischem Dauerfeuer einer tiefen Bassschicht entgegen. Luftig ausgestattet erfreut sie sich in quälender Trockenheit an spartanischen Tonfolgen. Dreht sich alles und weicht nicht vom Weg ab. 

Fällst mir leicht

Ein Stomper für die Dark Disco. Direkt. Dynamisch. Voller Energie. Maschinelle Rhythmen werden gnadenlos vorangetrieben. In deren Echokammern verspielt eine virtuelle Elektronikwelt ihre Befreiung durch eine unerwartete Synthie-Interruption, die roboterhaft verdrängt wird. Ein Marsch wäre keine Option. Sich auf der Tanzfläche auszutoben, sich regelrecht die Seele auszukotzen, das schon. So fällst Du mir leicht.

Dich

Hier sprechen eine Minute lang ausschließlich Buchstaben und Wörter. Ich – ich – ich – Dich – ich liebe Dich – ich – ich – Dich. Verschallung und Verschaltung von Stimme und Körper. Mit einer nervösen Mechanik schnaufen, zischen und überlagern sich die Phoneme mehrfach. Sie werden moduliert, seriell systematisiert –  bis die Essenz jedes einzelnen Ausdrucks aufgelöst erscheint. 

Barbate

Das Panorama einer südandalusischen Stadt als schillerndes Fresko. Doch ohne jegliche spanischen Klischees. Ohne Touristen-Folklore. Klanglich illuminiert und verschachtelt. So spiegelt sich ein Gefühl wider, welchem man sich an diesem Ort möglicherweise aussetzen mag, wenn Bilder die Klänge verstimmen. Bedächtig, konzentriert, fast prozessionsartig fügt sich ein Melodiefragment zusammen. Mit Schwankungen am Rande. Taghell und nachtschwarz. Das Motiv wird ständig wiederholt, wechselt die Tonarten, wandert durch Skalen. Harmonien geraten ins Schwanken. Dabei lösen sie sich scheinbar unentwegt auf, ohne dass das Stück Substanz verliert. Das Instrumentarium bleibt unerkannt. Ein unbekanntes Saiteninstrument?

Cádiz

In gleißendem Licht flirrt der Welttraum eines Küstenorts im Hitzestau. Voller Watte und kerniger Kanten schnalzt und klirrt es zwischen zwei Winden. Im dickflüssigen Öl flirten kaltgepresste Oliven. Aufgebrochen schweben sie davon.

Campari-Sekt

Ein paar Eiswürfel im Glas. Bevor sie schmelzen, werden sie geschüttelt. Sie rotieren. Klirren. Dann ein Schwenk. Das Geräusch verselbstständigt sich und wird unscharf. Überführt sich in Rhythmen. Lauter Eigenleben. Die Würfel sind nicht mehr als solche zu identifizieren, sie werden gefiltert und in mehreren Schattierungen metamorphisiert. Ein elektronischer Zersetzungsprozess scheint unaufhaltsam in Gang zu kommen. Rhythmen zirkulieren, fangen sich und die Hörer:innen ein. Sie ändern unentwegt ihren Style. Nicht für immer. Am Schluss wird die amorph gewordene Masse entschleiert und lenkt über auf das immer noch klirrende Eis. Keine Zeit ist vergangen. 

 

Joachim Ody & Roland Schappert, Mai 2022

Created, performed, mixed, artwork, lyrics
and cover photographs by Roland Schappert
Mastered by Robert Feuchtl at bobhumid.de
Design by Monika Neumann at motho-design.com
Produced by Michael Heiber at neophon.de
Thank you Joachim Ody
Limited Edition 250
2022
Downloadlink: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Downloadcode: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Distribution by a-musik.com
All rights reserved
www.r-ecords.com